Dressmaking Part III

Several weeks into my dressmaking now, which I’ve just just been working on in the evening.  The pattern is a little bit confusing, mostly because I don’t know what I’m doing, but also because the pattern is quite old – and obviously for a generation more used to making their own clothes!

So where am I up to?  This week I have been working on the sleeves:

Facing on the edges so that that sleeves are stiff

DSCN3818

Next I began to sew the skirt panels together:

Matching darts need to be sewn together, these will be different according to each panel that you are sewing.

DSCN3830

So here is what it looks like now:

Just pinned on a sleeve to see how it will look.

Assembling bits!

The next step will be to make some adjustments to the size as it is too big for me, and this needs to be done before I can sew in the zip and sew the top and bottom together.  This is taking quite a long time, but I guess it’s not like I’m working on it for hours everyday – not looking to bad now though.

Leave a Reply

