Several ways my old school reports predicted the future

year1angela

Not quite 7, me in 1995

Maybe you are familiar with the phrase, ‘Show me a boy at 7 and I will show you the man’.  Flicking back through my old school reports it’s astonishing how well my old primary school teacher’s comments still describe me as an adult, apparently there are some foibles so deeply ingrained that they are nearly impossible to shake off.  I was a very good child so the true comedy gold is missing, but here are some observations:

Quite a lot of my teachers commented on my artistic ability, here’s one from Mrs.J (reception, age 5): ‘Her observational skills are reflected in the artwork which she produces – pictures drawn from life and from memory are equally impressive’.  I’m still pretty hot with the artwork, and when it came for me to choose my subject for university I was on a knife edge between going to art school and studying English.  As if I didn’t know this anyway, my old school reports confirm it would have been a fair decision either way.

angeladrawing

An early masterpiece circa 1994, family portrait complete with the dog and my dad (with hair)

General comments . . . . ‘Her reading which caused initial concern has gone from strength to strength.’  No need to worry Mrs. R (year 1, age 6), I’ll go on to do a degree in English Literature, but that’s not to overshadow the real pinnacle of my literacy success; being the narrator at the end of year school play in year 6.

Maths . . . ‘She understands some aspects of probability, recognising that some events are certain, some impossible, and some uncertain’.  Sounds like a key life skill Mrs.McP (year 2, age 7), I’m not sure where on that scale my current outcome for success might fall, but I’ll let you know what happens with Schrödinger’s cat.

General comments . . . . ‘Angela’s work and progress this year has been very pleasing.  She does however seem to put herself under pressure and gets upset when she finds something difficult.  She needs to realise that she will often find things hard but that she has the ability to succeed.’  Way to make my cry Mrs. S (year 3, age 8) this comment is right on the mark, and in terms of development into adult life someone could have made this observation about me yesterday.  I’m still working on it Mrs. S!

English . . . . ‘She reads fluently and with expression and can predict the outcome of a story or answer questions about it.  Her writing is developing an interesting style, using her imagination and increasingly wide vocabulary to good effect.’  Cheers Miss H (year 4, age 9) this was the year in which I remember really ‘discovering’ reading properly and started to read A LOT of my own accord, a habit which persists to this day.  One year later Mr.G (below) put a copy of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone into my hands (before the second one had even been published) and I became an enthusiastic first generation Potter fan.

Physical Education . . . . ‘Angela has enjoyed all aspects of P.E., always shows enthusiasm and works well individually and as a part of a team.’  Nice one Mr.G (year 5, age 10) little do you know that I’ll be using that phrase on pretty much every job application from 2008 onwards.  Come to think of it I could use some hard evidence of my individualistic team working, mind if I take a copy of this report to my next interview as a reference?

Technology . . . . ‘Angela can load the “Paintshop Pro” programme and use it to alter and print out images.’  Thanks Miss N. (year 6, age 11)  I might have been a whiz with the Paintshop Pro back in 1999 but I’m still struggling the ludicrous intricacies of Adobe Photoshop in 2013.

Leave a Reply

